16 May 2015

Call for ASSC Nominations

Academic Staff Steering Committee*

Nominations for Co-Chair, Secretary, and two Member-at-Large positions are now being accepted for the 2015-2016 academic year. Terms are for 1 year terms although the Co-chair is expected to serve as Chair the following year. We have received a number of nominations at our last ASSC meeting, but are extending the call to all Academic Staff who are AAUP-AFT Members.

Nomination forms must be returned to the AAUP-AFT office by 5:00 PM on Tuesday, 7/2/15. Completed forms can be faxed to (313) 577-8159, scanned and emailed to office@aaupaft.org, or dropped off to the union office at 5057 Woodward, Suite 3301.

Nominators and Nominees must be employed as Academic Staff and be current AAUP-AFT Local 6075 Members. Please consider nominating yourself or a respected colleague. 

 Click to download the Nomination instructions and the Nomination form

Feel free to call or email the Union office with any questions you may have.

* The Academic Staff Steering Committee (ASSC) was established to advance the standards, ideals and welfare of the Academic Staff of Wayne State University, and promote the interests of higher education. All Academic Staff who are members of the AAUP-AFT at Wayne State University are members of the ASSC. Academic Staff who are full Union members of the AAUP-AFT elect ASSC leadership annually.

Elected leaders of the ASSC organize and present a series of informational luncheon meetings throughout the academic year for Academic Staff at WSU. The Chair represents the interests of Academic Staff at the Union’s Executive Board level, where he or she serves throughout the term of office.