16 November 2016

2016 ASSC Service Project - Alternatives For Girls

Click for Wish List
Dear Faculty and Academic Staff,

On behalf of the WSU Academic Staff Steering Committee (ASSC) of the AAUP-AFT, WSU Local 6075, we are writing to ask you to consider making a donation as part of our annual service fundraiser benefiting a great and unique organization - Alternative For Girls (AFG). 

The Wish List and 10 Ways to Support Alternatives For Girls is included, which details how you can contribute.  Wish list items may be placed in the collection box per our location and contact listing below.  Donations should be dropped off at one of the donation sites by Friday, Dec. 16, 2016. In addition, you can send your contributions directly to AFG at 903 W. Grand Blvd., Detroit, MI 48208, (313) 361-4000.

Click for project details
Founded in 1987, Alternatives For Girls helps homeless and high-risk girls and young women avoid violence, teen pregnancy, and exploitation, and helps 
them to explore and access the support, resources and opportunities necessary to be safe, to grow strong, and to make positive choices in their lives.  For more information, you can check out their website: AlternativesForGirls.org

Please feel free to contact me by e-mail at cmerritt@wayne.edu if you have questions or wish additional information.

Thank you all in advance for your thoughtfulness 
and generosity this holiday season!

*ASSC Annual Service Project 2016 Supporting Alternative For Girls (AFG)
  WSU Drop Off Locations and Contacts:  
Academic/Administration Building (AAB)             Juanita Pipkin / Ellen Holmes
Biological Sciences                                              Rebecca Russell
Cohn                                                                     Dennis Beste
College of Education                                            LaSondra Dawn / Ebony Green 
Faculty/Administration Building (FAB)                  Marianka Holloway / Cynthia Merritt 
Maccabees                                                           Cheryl White
Manoogian Hall                                                    Tonal Simmons
Pharmacy and Health Sciences                           Shauna Reevers
Physics Hall                                                          Dawn Niedermiller
Purdy/Kresge Library                                            Monique Oldfield 
Reuther Library                                                     Stefanie Caloia
Life Sciences & Science Hall                                Deanna Cavanaugh
Social Work                                                           Sarah Doyle
Undergraduate Library                                          Aundra Freeman
Chemistry                                                              Melissa Barton
Law School                                                            Diane Fears
Old Main                                                                Lisa Dobbs
Matthaei Athletics Complex                                   Kim Clexton 
Mazurek Medical Education Commons                 Leah Robinson / Jason Brooks 

Drop off Deadline – Friday, Dec. 16, 2016 
Drop off to AFG  –  Monday, Dec. 19, 2016

Thank You,

Cynthia Merritt and Dawn Niedermiller

Academic Staff Steering Committee
AAUP-AFT, Local 6075, WSU Chapter